Spectrum Silvercoats Fusing Experiment

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

J. Savina

Spectrum Silvercoats Fusing Experiment

Post by J. Savina »

I want to experiment with some Spectrum silvercoat and clear glass. Has anyone tried this before? Am I going to blow up my kiln trying? What's the worst case senario? Will the metalic surface react weird with the heat? I'm not a rocket scientist, but I really want to try this. If anyone has any reason why I should not do this will you please let me know? I'm going to wait till Monday to try this. Thanks .
J.
Jeanette S. Cobb
J. Savina Stained Glass Studio
Brock

Post by Brock »

No experience with it, but it's not listed under System 96 products. I doubt that it's silver, and I doubt that it will be a pleasing experience. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Linda Hassur

Post by Linda Hassur »

I saw this at a glass show and Spectrum people told me it wasn't meant for kiln work and the metalic surface would burn off. I didn't get any because of what they said. Linda
J. Savina

Post by J. Savina »

Thanks Linda and Brock. I still want to see if I can fuse a clear piece of glass over it. I'm figuring that if the Dichroic coating looks pretty kewl with clear over it, maybe the silvercoat will be okay too. I feel like being a pioneer this weekend. Don't wish me good luck, cuz luck is not a factor.
J.
Jeanette S. Cobb
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

The Spectrum Silvercoat is mirrored spectrum glass. If you heat it to fusing temps, the silver burns out leaving a putrid yellow silver stain on the glass... amazingly, some of the back coating remains.

Tony
The tightrope between being strange and being creative is too narrow to walk without occasionally landing on both sides..." Scott Berkun
J. Savina

Post by J. Savina »