new to warm glass and having trouble already

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Sandpiper

new to warm glass and having trouble already

Post by Sandpiper »

Help me!!!!! :shock: I just got a kiln, and I'm new to warm glass. Everybody is full of info, but it is all different. I used a fireworks floral slumper and treated it with kiln wash like the directions said, but when I slumped over it, the inside was textured and nasty. I had visions of nice shiney smooth glass, but I got something rough and ugly :cry: Why? Some people said I shouldn't have put anything on the mold. Someone else told me I should have used glass separator, not kiln wash. Is there one answer? I know this is probably boring and pathetic, and not a very interesting question, but I got to sort out these simple problems before I can come up with something really creative for everyone to sink their teeth into :D Thanks
Sandpiper
Steve Immerman

Post by Steve Immerman »

Was the glass that you slumped first fused in a separate firing? The glass gets it's nice gloss at temps above slumping temps.

The side of the glass in contact with the shelf or mold will always have some texture, but the "up" side, will have a nice gloss at fusing temps.

So, a typical situation would be to create your design out of two 3mm layers of glass, and fuse it at a temp between 1425 and 1500. It will now be nice and smooth and glossy on top.

Then to let it cool, put it in the mold and refire to a slumping temp between 1150 and 1325 depending on the mold configuration.

Yes, you should have covered your mold with kilnwash or shelf separator. The pink Bullseye stuff is the best.

I don't know what the fireworks floral mold looks like, so maybe my comments are off base? Is it ceramic or metal?

Steve
Jane Lindell

Post by Jane Lindell »